Revolution by Russell Brand

revolution russell brand

I listened to the audio book of this for the Huntington Beach Non Fiction Book Group. When I listen to audio books I am usually a bit distracted, talking to my dog and my child as I take them both for a walk in a morning. This book suited my listening ability, since it does not go in to a great deal of complicated detail, and there is quite a lot of repetition. If I had read the old-fashioned paper book then I may well have scanned through a lot of it, but I liked the audio book. Brand reads it, which added a lot to my enjoyment. He is a lot calmer reading this book than in his usual performances, and I liked the style. He made me laugh a lot and even think a little, too.

Now, on to the content. Brand puts himself and his intelligence down, but I think he must have either had some help with this, or he is actually brighter than he makes out. He references an awful lots of other people’s ideas, and includes far too many pithy quotes for my liking, but he delivers the ideas in a compelling and entertaining way.

In short, he suggests a revolution of our current broken political systems to bring in something truly democratic, and that we should all meditate and reflect on our spirituality a couple of times a day. Oh, if only we all had the spare time of a rich actor/comedian, I am sure that we all would. He does address the hypocrisy of a man in his comfortable financial position, brought about by being famous for nothing particularly useful to the human race, except entertaining us, calling for a revolution to bring about equality.

A how-to book it certainly is not. In fact he gives no suggestions on how we might bring this revolution about, and is also quite vague when discussing how the world might look once we are done. He has understood the basics of what is wrong with the system, and argues his points well (or at least uses other sources to argue his points). But there is really not very much of substance in terms of a way forward.

On the whole, I agree with his point that he could have just written “Booky Wook Three” and collected his cheque, and he chose not to, he chose to bring these ideas a little closer to the minds of the masses, and I think that is a good thing.

This entry was posted in book review, books, non-fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

