Still Missing – Chevy Stevens

I’m not a fan of scary thrillers but I do like a whodunnit so this book got better for me as I got to the second half. It’s about a realtor who gets abducted, and the first half is all about that. It’s all quite horrible, as anyone could imagine. I’m sure it’s the stuff realtor’s nightmares are made of. In fact, Stevens used to be a realtor, so maybe the inspiration for this book came in the form of a nightmare.

Each chapter is a separate session with the protagonist’s shrink, which is a clever way of telling the story. I can’t help but compare it to “Room”, also about an abducted woman kept for some time, but “Room” is told in a more imaginative and thought-provoking way. This is typical best-seller thriller, which isn’t a bad thing, and it’s a fast read because of it’s style.

I don’t really like novels about psychos, they remind me that there are so many of them out there. Stevens has created some fairly believable bad guys, and the abductor is as creepy as can be. Strangely, he does tell his victim quite a lot about himself, which surprises me, would a crazy nutjob like this see a victim as a person enough to share in this way? I don’t know, I guess all crazies are different.

The second half turns into more of a whodunnit, I enjoyed that the most and I sped through the last 100 pages, trying to guess who the bad guys might be. Obviously, the kidnapper is the bad guy, but there might be some other people and issues involved there, I don’t want to tell you and give too much away.

It reads like a thriller novel written in the hope of being made into a movie. As far as I know there are no plans to turn this into a movie, but her second novel will be. My mother is a fan of the sort of book that doesn’t challenge the reader too much, but scares them quite a lot. She’d like this one.

This entry was posted in fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still Missing – Chevy Stevens

  1. cableye says:

    This book stayed with me long after I finished it. Stevens brings you into the action and makes it quite plausible.

  2. Lisa says:

    I guess I’m a bit of an optimist in life and maybe a little naive. I tend to see the best in people, which can get me into trouble sometimes. This book really bothered me, especially when you find out near the end who is really responsible. It was heartbreaking to me that there are (I’m sure) people in this world who would do something so heinous for money. My husband would say it’s good for me, because I tend to walk around in a bubble which makes me vulnerable to the bad guys.

    Overall, I enjoyed the book. I appreciated the fact that she made you aware of the violence without giving a lot of graphic details. I also liked the format of each chapter being a session with the therapist, who you never actually hear speak except through Annie’s anecdotes. And it was a quick read with a (fairly) good ending. The really bad people got what was coming to them in the end.

    Good seeing you again at book club, Claire. Hope you can join us again next month. 🙂

  3. jan Burns says:

    Is this book a true story? I cannot find the answer to this anywhere I’ve searched.

Leave a Reply

